Patrick McManus

Patrick McManus

Patrick McManus (1933-2018)

Outdoor humor writer extraordinaire

I met Mr. McManus in 1989 in Michigan City, IN, while he was on a book signing tour.  Enjoyed spending some time talking with him one-on-one since a lot of people were not there (sorry Pat, but that’s just the way it was).  I had six of his books and was grateful to have him autograph each one.  He also allowed me to take his picture with my preschool children, Kyle and Emily.

Men, you MUST read McManus!  Dad, you and your son(s) will enjoy reading his stuff, too.  Do it together, if you can do it without laughing uncontrollably.  Family-friendly in every way.

Titles include:

Collections of Outdoor Humor Pieces
A Fine and Pleasant Misery (1978)
They Shoot Canoes, Don’t They? (1981)
Never Sniff a Gift Fish (1981)
The Grasshopper Trap (1985)
Rubber Legs and White Tail-Hairs (1987)
The Night the Bear Ate Goombaw (1989)
The Good Samaritan Strikes Again (1992)
How I Got This Way (1994)
Into the Twilight, Endlessly Grousing (1997)
Real Ponies Don’t Go Oink! (1999)
The Bear in the Attic (2002)
Kerplunk (2007)
The Horse in My Garage and Other Stories (2013)
Never Cry “Arp!” (1997) – a collection for younger readers (Out of print)

Recipes and Memoir
Whatchagot Stew (1989) (Out of print)

Children’s Book
Kid Camping from Aaaaiii! to Zip (1999) (Out of print)

Tips for Writing Humor
The Deer on a Bicycle (2000)

Bo Tully Mysteries
The Blight Way (2006)
Avalanche (2007)
The Double-Jack Murders (2009)
The Huckleberry Murders (2010)
The Tamarack Murders (2013)





Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s